MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-27-2012, 02:03 PM
Skilled

New From Colorado

Hi all,
I'm new to this site and would like to briefly introduce myself.
I am also new to this art but have excellent prerequisites that will work well in helping me achieve my knifemaking goals.
After internet researching for about the last two weeks I finally stumbled upon this site which appears to be an outstanding source of information!
I look forward to digging in here and learning all that I can. I realize that this will be a long learning process and I promise to have more questions than answers.
Thank you for this resource!
Old 06-27-2012, 03:26 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Howdy, Rockhound and welcome! What are your knife making goals?

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 06-27-2012, 05:54 PM
Skilled

Hi Ray,
Thank you for the welcome!
My end-goal at this time is to gain the skills necessary to create fixed-handle knives which have mineral/gemstone handles and variations. Not for re-sale purposes but more to satisfy me and serve as another creative outlet. Besides that... I live at close to 10K ft above sea level and the winters are looooong here, haha.
I realize that this is a huge goal (stone handles) and I am many knives away from gaining these skills.... but that is what I would eventually like to do. I admire the knife works of Jay Fisher and his creations are a huge inspiration.... but at age 50, I know that there's probably not enough time in my life to get THAT good.