MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 05-09-2008, 09:11 AM
Hall of Famer

Decision

Guys I am a mechanic and have always worked commission or flag time. I have the opportunity to work a salary job with great benefits. Right now I spend 70 to 75 hrs a week at work and commuting. The new job would require about 50 hours a week. I am figuring total time away from home. Money is a little less but, I could be in my shop at 4:30 in the afternoon instead of getting home at 8:45 pm. More time to make knives!
I'm just wondering about the change from getting paid for the amount of work I do to getting paid for the amount of time spent at work. After 28 years it may take some time to get used to. Has anyone made similar transition ?

Old 05-09-2008, 11:16 AM
Living Legend

When I first moved from the cooking world to the corporate world I hit a similar situation.

For me the lose of money was more than made up for by the benefits, specifically health care.

I will say that getting more time with my wife and having regular hours also made up for the lose.

Jim

Old 05-09-2008, 11:45 AM
Master

I would sit down and really think about your finances and make sure it wouldn't put you into a financial bind to make the transition but if it doesn't then I would take it. Great benefits are definitely a good thing to have. Having one medical problem occur that is covered by the new plan but may not be covered by the current plan can make up the difference in pay for a decade of work and such. Have you spoken with employees from the company to see how happy they are there?